South River Electric Membership Corp.


Public Utilities

About Us

South River Electric Membership Corporation is an electric distribution cooperative whose headquarters is in Dunn, North Carolina. The Cooperative also has a District Operations Center in Fayetteville for the convenience of our membership. Our Cooperative serves over 42,000 consumer/members in Harnett, Cumberland, Sampson, Johnston and Bladen counties. South River EMC has 98 employees and is owned and operated by the consumer/members who use its services. The company is managed by CEO & Executive Vice President Buddy G. Creed. A slate of nine directors is elected by the members at the annual meeting on the basis of one vote per member. Directors serve three-consecutive-year term before being eligible for re-election. South River EMC is a non-profit organization chartered in 1940. The cooperative?s electric plant is valued in excess of $150 million. The cooperative has just over 5,339 miles of energized distribution and transmission lines and 36 substations.